deerhunt

Thanksgiving week in WV means turkey, deer hunting and Alice’s Restaurant on Rock 105. I wallowed in all three. Did some ritual worn deer hunts on Monday and Tuesday…same tired discussions, everyone hunts the same spots, sees the same (lack of) deer, goes home to eat the same Thanksgiving spreads on Wednesday/Thursday. I have to say it is awesome. Some things shouldn’t change.

I’m a trophy buck hunter, I see no value in shooting an inferior buck that the hunter will not immortalize the rack. If you want meat, take a doe, if you want antlers, let them go so they can grow. I’ve gotten to the point that I have a hard time congratulating folks on shooting inferior bucks. Particularly those who I know will either give the deer away because they never wanted the meat to begin with (my uncle) or those who will cut the rack off and throw it in a bucket in the corner of a shed somewhere.

“I want to see blood, gore and guts and veins in my teeth. Eat. Dead. Burnt Bodies. I mean kill. kill. KILLLL.”

I memorized the entire 20 plus minutes of Alice’s Restaurant sometime around the bored, confused age of 10. Since I was old enough to remember they’ve played it all day Thanksgiving day on a Charleston rock station and for years it was a tradition for our family to tune it in at some point on Thanksgiving day. Then we bought the cd so we could listen to it at our lesiure. I once even conned a local movie rental store into securing a copy of “Alice’s Restaurant” the movie so I could watch it. Not a bad flick considering the budget.

I’ll be glad when all these leftovers are gone and I can resume poverty level grub. Honestly, gonna be a tough deal running these pounds off.

Not sure how much more I’ll get to hunt this year. May go out for a day or two in blackpowder season. This past winter my wife won a brand new CVA in-line muzzleloader during a presentation at my church by the editor of Blackpowder Guns & Hunting. It’s a pretty slick rifle. I really don’t want any meat this year though, not a big fan of deer meat personally. I prefer beef. But if I get a chance to go somewhere that I feel I’ve got a shot at a taxidermist worthy creature I’ll consider it.

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on November 23, 2007, in huntin. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

