evening drive? whatever…

So I got another yard pass for a day in the woods with my dad on a blackpowder hunt. My target for the last 10 years is a trophy buck and only a trophy buck will do. Couple that task with few days in the woods and I’m really on edge when it comes to hunting plans. So it is more than a little frustrating when you show up at the hunting camp and your plans have been made for you. I wanted to go one place, but was told we were doing a drive and I’d be sitting in another. I hate drives. At least in WV, with it’s rugged topography, very very very very few large bucks are ever taken on a drive. Most of the time, the large bucks hide and let the driving hunters walk right on past. Not to mention the unpredictability of the direction the deer will go and the limited vision the hunter has. So I pretty much wasted the day, but it was nice to not be in the normal routine of life for a spell. Maybe I’m getting less fun. Maybe it is the pressure of the 10 year mission for a trophy and nothing to show for it. I don’t know, but I’m thinking that I have a better time hunting by myself, making my own decisions and not having other people in the woods screwing around stirring things up.

So discharge the barrel till next year. Hopeful that it’ll be a better one.

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on December 17, 2007, in huntin. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. sweet photo.

    yrs-
    Evan!

Leave a Reply

