Phil’s 2008 Agenda

It’s too cold to do anything right now. I can’t even do much rod work in my garage shop right now because it is so cold there. Varnish won’t flow. I’m operating on very little sleep this week as well. But just to feed a nugget to the blog here are a few goals for 2008:

  • Hit Vandalia Angler II hard. I promised to have the next DVD released by Fall 2007 and I failed on that. I was just not happy with the quality of the footage I was getting related to my vision for the project. Like I told Shockey, I may end up scrapping 50% of my footage. Just wasn’t good enough. Despite that I’m only working with cheap equipment and on a 10 cent budget I still intend to put out something that is as good as any other fly fishing production going. Not to mention that the message is too important to screw it up. The message being conservation. This film will have a conservation twist to it and I have multiple interviews I’m going to try to get going in the Spring. I will not even venture as to when I will finish this thing as I’ve been wrong before.
  • Tarpon fishing in Florida. This is the goal anyway. Andy has been after me to go with him on annual tarpon trips the past 2 years and I’ve bailed on him at the last minute each time. Going to try to pull it off this year despite the fact that my wife may be quitting her job and going back to school full time.
  • Backpack trips, multiple. Several guys have expressed interest in some trout bum trips this year and I intend to pull a few off. I want to pack/fish through the Otter Creek, Red Run, Laurel Fork and Seneca Creek backcountries. Hopefully I can get them all this year.
  • Take my 3 year old son on way more fishing trips than I took him last year and get my 2 year old daughter more involved as well. I don’t have access to any farm ponds within 1 hour of where I live so it is tough to find somewhere that I can get immediate success for a short attention span type of kid. That has been my deterrent to date. If anyone would give permission to my kids for some farmpond fishing or have any suggestions in the Charleston area please let me know. The public waters around here are not very user friendly for kids.
  • I want to do several smallmouth floats this year. I bought a new 9′ pontoon last summer and only had it out one time and that was on a pond. I intend to do a couple of floats in it this year including the Elk River above Sutton Lake and hopefully some part of the Greenbrier, preferably the upper stretches where stopping to fish native brook trout tribs would be an option.
About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on January 4, 2008, in flatulancy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve backpacked and fished otter creek and seneca creek multiple times. feel free to invite me when you go and I’ll do the same.

    yrs-
    Evan!

Leave a Reply

