close call

My pastor calls me up and asks me to take him fishing. So last night I met him after work and drove south. He does fly fish, some, but on this excursion he chose to be an elitist and packed his spinning rod and a bucket of mealworms and night crawlers. I can be tolerant of these elitists, particularly if it is my pastor! He promises to catch and release all trout though.

So right off the bat he catches a fish. Then a few minutes later another. This goes on and up the stream we go until he has got me down something like 4 fish to 0. I know that he won’t stay quiet about beating the “expert” fly angler with bait so I flip into overdrive. Of course, I have often conceded that an efficient bait angler will beat a fly angler the majority of the time…I just don’t want to let it happen on my watch. Then the Lord showed some mercy on me and allowed a sweet Quill Gordon hatch to commence. I caught 4 fish in nearly less than 5 minutes by lifting a squirrel tail soft hackle and tied the game, it was sweeeeet. The hatch was over almost as quick as it started and neither of us caught another fish. I said “caught”. I did proceed to hook another 3 or 4 fish and had on FAT 14″-16″ range brown on for a fraction of a minute. These fish all rose to an elk hair emerger pattern – tied with trailing shuck, pheasant tail body, forward elk hair wing – and rose well to this pattern with a quality drift for a short time. Most of the fish were initially hooked downstream of my position which made for a tough hookset, hence the lost fish.

The starter fish – yeah, it was that ugly

Full Frontal

Check out the adipose fin…

There were larger fish caught, but with the hatch going and the bite furious I didn’t stop to take any photos.

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on April 23, 2008, in ifished, pointnshoot pictures. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

