Golfballs and Largemouths

I spent the past 3 days in the eastern panhandle for work. As you may or may not know I spend a good bit of travel time in that area. This time was as busy as ever and had to work late each day. I had a coworker with me who hasn’t fished in a couple of years, but is a golfer. I haven’t golfed in a couple of years, but am a fisher. So we compromised about our few hours of free time left each evening. We played golf, then fished. The golf course ponds in Moorefield were full of hungry bass and bluegill the size of your head. Nothing big was caught, but I did hook a few giant fish. I started out using a worm pattern that I’d picked up at Anglers Xtreme a few years ago, but I couldn’t keep the weedless hook in the fish. Being used to trout and having a long fly rod makes it difficult to get a good hookset on those tough mouthed creatures. So I switched to a conehead brown zuddler and I hooked and landed a largemouth bass on nearly 10-15 consecutive casts. Ended up with well over 20 fish and they shut down on the zuddler after it got pitch dark. So I tied a big popper on my partners rod and resigned to relaxing on a bunker mound and watch the goings on. Then someone nearby started launching fireworks into the night sky and it made for a really cool show. The following evening we played golf at The Woods in Hedgesville, but were so hungry by the time we finished that we decided to forego fishing in favor of food.

 

Biggest Fish

Biggest Fish

Work Hard

Work Hard

Play Hard

Play Hard

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on July 17, 2008, in flatulancy, ifished, pointnshoot pictures, Quality DSLR Pics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

