didymo sucks dirty sphincters

Rock snot is spreading in WV and that sucks bad. It puts a hurtin on trout populations and that tees me off. Of course, it will be a great opportunity for the overzealous C&R missionaries to blame population downturn on fishing pressure. Rock snot is bad stuff. When I was fishing in Maryland a month ago I noticed that the state had installed wader wash stations along accesses. I’ve suggested this to the state TU council and not much has been said. I’ll probably bring it up again at the Fall meeting. Press releases from Mike Shingleton are not going to do much if anything. The vast majority of anglers won’t read ’em, let alone follow the guidelines. As for me, despite having bought a new pair of wading boots just last Fall I will be retiring the felt soles soon for a more rock snot unfriendly pair of boots. Looks like I’ll be picking up a pair of Patagucci sticky rubber boots from Craig at Serenity Now Outfitters. I am particularly culpable for this debate since I fish so many different waters throughout the state. Even if you don’t fish as big a range as I do, I would highly encourage you to either ditch the felt for a while or at a minimum follow the cleaning guidelines.

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on August 12, 2008, in flatulancy. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. those wader wash stations in maryland are pretty gross – like little portable mud puddles. I wonder if they’re even effective?

    yrs-
    Evan!

Leave a Reply

