Colorado – Day 1

Like a whirlwind of events, I attended my daughter’s birthday party at Chucky Cheese’s then came home, packed up the car and hit the bed at about 10:30 pm. Before drifting off I set my alarm for 1:40am but for some reason something didn’t seem right. At 1:55am somehow my body’s internal alarm woke me up and I levitated out of bed. I was on the road by 2:05am. Picked up Chris at 3:10am and headed on to Akron, OH where we flew out to Denver. After touching down in Denver, a mess at Alamo Rental Car it was on to pick up Chris’ brother Matt and the three of us had hiked in a couple of miles and had begun fishing in the Rocky Mountain National Park by 3:10pm. Not bad.

The hike in was pretty brutal for being sleep deprived and accustomed to 2000′. In retrospect that hike was cake. We were fishing at a mere 9500′ of elevation and the lightheadedness and headache that comes with altitude sickness were setting in. In four hours I caught twenty six greenback cutthroat including some nice ones. We also discovered that we were fishing directly behind two other anglers. The altitude sickness started getting me pretty good so I spent the last 30 minutes or so with my head in my hands despite a crazy good bite. Chris and Matt took pity and we threw in the towel and headed back to the low elevation of the mile high city.

Photo Gallery – Day 1 – Greenback Cutthroat (Onchoryncus clarki stomias)

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on September 2, 2008, in ifished, Quality DSLR Pics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

