Colorado – Day 4

I woke up at about 6:45 and had to go bad. So I barrelled out of my tent and headed for the john which was located about 20 yards from my tent door. About halfway between the outhouse and my tent the dizziness left me and I realized I was standing amidst a giant herd of elk. There must’ve been 25 elk all within 40 yards encircling me. What a day this was going to be!

About 3.5 miles of uphill hiking from 9500′ and up led us to the first trail junction with the stream we were to fish. Again, fishing was tough early on. Took me 20 minutes to move the first trout and likewise for the other anglers. The fishing seemed to pick up slightly as we moved upstream and up in the day, but the gradient also picked up. Golly Bridge was it steep. We literally were climbing a giant waterfall and at one point we finally decided to just hoof it towards the meadow and forget fishing for a while. Along the way we encountered a big porcupine alongside the creek. That was a pretty neat sight.

We finally made it up to the meadow and the stream seemed to have shrunk and I mean bigtime. It was no more than 18″-23″ wide and lined with grasses and brush, but it was often almost 12″ to 18″ deep and filled with 8″ Colorado River Cutthroat. I was able to catch thirteen fish, Matt caught about same number and I suspect Chris caught about 15 to 20. It was a long hard hike back out from there and nearly did Matt in.

Photo Gallery – Day 4 – Colorado River Cutthroat (Onchoryncus clarki pleuriticus)

About wvangler

Bamboo rodmaker. Prognosticator. Fly Angling Purist S.O.B. Dabble in snowboarding/mountain biking/backpacking. Right Wing Environmentalist. Food Junkie. Hillbilly. Intellectual Geek.

Posted on September 2, 2008, in ifished, Quality DSLR Pics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

